For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.

Editing and Managing Worksets

Switching Worksets

When you open a workset, the name of the workset you are currently editing will be displayed in the upper-left corner of the D5 workspace. Click on it to view and switch between different worksets.

Note: Assets within Read-Only worksets cannot be edited and are for viewing purposes only. You cannot modify the parameters (including size, position, and materials) of models belonging to a non-active workset, nor can you use the Brush or Scatter tools on them.

Switching Worksets Directly in D5 Render

You do not need to exit and reopen the project to switch worksets directly.

  1. Click the active workset name in the upper-left corner of D5 Render and select "Reselect Workset".

  2. In the pop-up window, check the boxes for the worksets you want to edit.

  3. Currently opened worksets will be checked by default. You can only select worksets that are not currently occupied by other users.

  4. Worksets that contain pending modifications from other users will be flagged with an "Has Updates" tag.

Switch scenario
Is a Restart/Reload Required?

Switching to a workset with pending updates

Yes (Requires reload)

Toggling Performance Mode

Yes (Requires reload)

Switching to a workset without updates

No (Instant switch, no reload needed)

Performance Mode

When editing worksets, you can choose to enable Performance Mode. When active, the system only loads the full model and material data for your currently open workset. Models in all other worksets will be displayed as white simplified meshes (Clay Mode).

Mode
Description

Full Display Mode (Default)

Loads complete models and material data across all worksets in the project, offering a full visual preview.

Performance Mode

Only loads materials and detailed models for the active workset. All other worksets appear as white models, drastically reducing computer resource consumption.

Note: Performance Mode optimizes system resources for a smoother editing experience, but certain visual effects may be limited. To switch back to Full Display Mode, you must exit the project, reopen it, and uncheck Performance Mode.

"Visble To This Workset Only" Layers

When importing new assets into a workset, you may want them to only show up in your workspace to avoid cluttering your colleagues' worksets. You can achieve this by setting a layer to "Visible Only for this workset".

  1. Create a new layer

  2. Set this layer to "Visible to this workset only"

  3. Move the model assets that only need to be displayed in the current workset to this layer

Example: If you have added a tree to the environment workset, but this tree is only relevant to your scene. To prevent it from interfering with other members, simply place it in a "Visible to this workset only" layer. Models in this layer will only display normally in the current workset and will not appear in other worksets' scenes.

Save and Sync

The edits made in a workset will be automatically merged into the central file upon saving. Members working on other worksets for the same project will receive notifications of updates in the software and can view the changes made by others to the project.

Note: When the central file is open, other members of the team who try to open the multi-editor project will see the prompt — "The central file is in editing." Once you exit the central file, different team members can enter different worksets simultaneously.

Last updated